Food Inspections

EH Office New Location

The Peoria City/County Health Department's food protection program follows  a risk-based inspection approach, with an emphasis on eliminating Foodborne Illness Risk Factors - the violations which are more likely to lead to consumers getting sick.  Environmental Health staff follow the conditions outlined in the Illinois Food Code (PDF) and  Food Safety Code of Peoria County (PDF) to determine compliance with best practices and to educate food establishment employees during routine, unannounced inspections. Food Establishments with a higher relative risk of causing foodborne illness (based on the large number of food handling operations, vulnerable populations served, or special processes conducted) are inspected more frequently than food establishments with a lower relative risk of causing foodborne illness.  Additional information on violations, inspection frequency, and inspection look-up are found below.  

Other popular Environmental Health topics include:

For a complete list of all Environmental Health topics, visit the main Environmental Health Page.

Food Establishment Inspection Look-Up Available

Food Inspection ButtonNew!  Beginning January 1, 2023, the license holder shall post a placard or sign in a location in the food establishment that is conspicuous to customers that notifies customers that, "a copy of the most recent establishment inspection report is available upon request."  The license holder shall provide a hard copy of the most recent inspection to customers for review and/or may provide a QR Code or web link to the PCCHD online inspection portal to satisfy this requirement. Download the Inspection Lookup Signage with QR Code.

 Please be advised that inspections only provide a snapshot of a food establishment's practices, as they are based on what is seen at the time of the inspection. If an establishment does not do well during an inspection, Health Department Staff work to educate the food establishment workers to assist with preventing repeat violations.

Food establishments in Peoria County are inspected routinely and unannounced depending on the risk assessment classification (PDF) assigned to each food establishment. Risk assessments are based on the Illinois Food Code (PDF) and the Food Safety Code of Peoria County (PDF), and other applicable food safety regulations. Look-up food safety inspections for food establishments in Peoria County.

Inspection Schedule

The general yearly inspection schedule is as follows:

  • Category I — 3 inspections
  • Category II — 2 inspections
  • Category III — 1 inspection

Compliance and follow-up (recheck) inspections are conducted as needed in addition to the routine inspections. During any type of inspection, Health Department Staff work to educate food establishment employees as to why certain practices are not acceptable and how these practices can contribute to food-borne illness.


There are 58 items or categories under which violations may be written when conducting a food inspection. These violation categories are divided into Foodborne Illness Risk Factors and Good Retail Practices.

Foodborne Illness Risk Factors are those violations which have a higher likelihood of contributing to a foodborne illness such as improper cooking and hot/cold holding temperatures and poor employee hygiene.

Good Retail Practices are violations of basic operational and sanitation conditions such as leaking faucets, missing light shields, etc.

Risk Factor violations and Good Retail Practice violations are also divided into three categories: Priority, Priority Foundation, and Core.

Priority items are violations that can contribute directly to foodborne illness if not controlled.  For instance, not cooking chicken to 165 degrees.

Priority Foundation items are violations that could contribute to Priority violations if not controlled such as not having a calibrated metal stem thermometer to take the temperature of the chicken.

Core violations relate to general sanitation, operational controls, sanitation standard operating procedures (SSOPs), facilities or structures, equipment design, or general maintenance.  For instance, the floor that an employee is standing on to take the temperature of the chicken is dirty.

There is no score.  Food Establishments will be given the number of Risk Factor Violations and Risk Factor Repeat Violations.